h1

Rewards You Say? Ender’s Game & Black Company

May 12, 2009

Ender's Game_R1Well, I called up one of my credit card companies this morning to see if they’d be so kind as to not slam me so hard into the ground with their ridiculous interest rate every month (that’s American Express if you’re interested) and by calls end I had successfully managed to drop the percentage a couple of points.  Of course, I’m closing the account all together as soon as its paid off as I’m done with borrowing money, but every little bit counts on the way to that goal right?  Anyhow, in the process of checking my account, I noticed that I had racked up a few of those “Thank You Rewards” that I had never redeemed and it turns out that I had enough to pick up a handful of books!  Now, I don’t recommend racking up debt at all, much less for thank-you-points but on my way to cleaning out the account free books certainly don’t hurt!

To my surprise, there was a pretty great selection of books and I had filled my cart in minutes.  I did have to trim it down in the end, and decided that it would be best to maximize the reward by getting a few compilations that I’ve been on the look out for, featuring several novels each.  Here’s what I went with:

The Ender Quartet Box Set: Ender’s Game, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind (Orson Scott Card)

Chronicles of the Black Company (Glen Cook)

The Books of the South: Tales of the Black Company (Glen Cook)

I’m just finishing up a library copy of Ender’s Game, and am really enjoying it, so I look forward to finally adding it to my library (the book was first recommended to me some 15 yearsago by a good friend) along with Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide and Children of the MindRaymond Swanland_BookoftheSouthbefore catching up with the series to Ender in Exile.  I’ll post my thoughts on Ender’s Game as I finish that up so keep an eye out for that.  And as far as Glen Cook’s Black Company is concerned, it’s one of the series I’ve been looking forward to diving into most thanks to the premise of an elite mercenary group fighting in the trenches of a dark war and an epic story that folks have gone on and on about.  Plus, with Steven Erikson’s Gardens of the Moon, Malazan Book of the Fallen Book 1 arriving at the end of the month it seems appropriate that I’ll be able to start the series whose author served as a major inspiration for Erikson.

Leave a Reply

