h1

“Another Song About Coraline…”

May 20, 2009

coraline r1

A little over a year ago I had the pleasure of reading Neil Gaiman’s Coraline in its entirety while waiting in the hospital lobby for my younger sister to give birth to a beautiful baby girl.  It was a fantastic way to whittle away the morning hours as we waited and I was captivated both by the novel, and the recent stop motion animated film of the same name.  Additionally, the score in the film is haunting (in a good way) and I don’t think a day had passed  before I had downloaded the soundtrack from iTunes.

Anyhow, I mention it because in a recent letter to Mr. Gaiman, a reader brings up Bruno Coulais’ soundtrack, as well as the possibility of a missing track:

Dear Mr. Gaiman,

I can’t tell you how much I adored the movie Coraline, and the film’s score is no exception.

Bruno Coulais’ pieces were haunting and beautiful, and the TMBG’s “Other Father Song” was terrific, but sadly, the song which stood out to me the most I can’t find!

It’s the tune played when Coraline and her mother (real of course) are shopping. It was also featured in one of the TV commercials for the film. (See it here http://twurl.cc/p7j )

In all my searching all I’ve found is that I think it’s called “Nellie Jean”, by Kent Melton (who may also have been a sculptor for the movie as well).

I know it’s a long shot, but I was wondering if you had any information to pass along about the song. I downloaded the movie soundtrack from iTunes, and it’s not there. I guess at worst I’ll keep listening to it on YouTube, though I’d really like to download it!

Thank’s, and keep it up!

Jason B

I asked Henry Selick, who said,

It is not “Nellie Jean” by Kent Melton – that is the 5 to 7 seconds of ukulele played by the small character in front of the garden store where Dad is dropped off. I think we just called it “shopping music” and I’m surprised it’s not on the soundtrack CD. I’ve asked Bruno Coulais if he’d mind sending me an MP3 to share with Jason.

And then, because Henry is a remarkable man, he sent me an MP3 of the track in question, and the mighty webgoblin has put it up at http://www.neilgaiman.com/mediafiles/exclusive/Audio/in_the_store_2.mp3

(The high voice singing is actually Bruno himself.)

Enjoy Coraline’s “Shopping Music” and check out the soundtrack if you haven’t had the opportunity to do so yet.  Great stuff!

One comment

  1. YES! Found it after 6 years! Thanks!



Leave a Reply

