h1

Reading ‘Atlus Shrugged’

July 21, 2009

atlas shruggedI’ve been itching to read Ayn Rand’s Atlus Shrugged for years now, but I’ve never quite had the time to sit back and digest this mammoth of a novel, so I figure that instead of waiting for the perfect opening that I had just better get started and see how things unfold. And without being too political it also appears as if this might be just what the doctor ordered as we enter an era where socialized programs and increasing  government involvement and control throughout the public and private sectors seem the destructive order of the day (as I approach it anyhow). I’m a good 3-4 days worth into the ride and while it’s shaping up nicely it’s going to be an awful lengthy ride, devouring that brick of a book, so I also plan to tackle a more fantasy themed offering simultaneously if I can manage it.

I’ve been itching to dive into Brandon Anderson’s Elantris (beyond the first dozen pages) sooner rather than later but I also kindly received a review copy of Joe Abercrombie’s The Blade Itself, The First Law Book One which I’ve heard nothing but great things about, so I may try to see what lies in store there first. I also have Carol Berg’s Song of the Beast, Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice, and Steven Erikson’s Gardens of the Moon, Malazan Book of the Fallen to get back to (I got a little lost in the story there for a season so I’m in the midst of re-reading and getting myself caught up again).

2 comments

  1. I would suggest Elantris if you haven’t already begun the First Law Series. Elantris is complete in one volume which will give you satisfaction, and possibly more time to finish the beast.

    It’s a lot of fun too, though I heard the same said for Abercrombie.


    • Thanks Chad, and your reply is timely because it is indeed ‘Elantris’ that I decided on. About an hour into the book I think I made a good choice.

      Thanks for chiming in, and for the suggestion.



Leave a Reply

