h1

Next Audio Book for the Queue?

August 12, 2009

Guards! Guards! P1As I mentioned in a previous entry, the blow from my 90-mile commute each day to and from work has been softened by several good audio books over the past year and to the point that instead of dreading the long drive I actually look forward to it so that I have one more opportunity to immerse myself in a good book for a couple of hours as opposed to enduring the mundane drive through traffic.

I’m just finishing up a particular book and am at the point where I’ll be picking out the next and find that I’m a little torn with this one. I managed to whittle the picks down to a couple of books by two legendary authors that I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never read before: Guards! Guards!: Discworld #8 (Terry Pratchett) & Dune (Frank Herbert). I’m really excited to read both of these but I’ve gone back and forth on which one to tackle first. On the one hand Terry Pratchett’s tome is sure to be wildly entertaining and have me laughing out loud in what I hear is a fine story, but on the other Dune is a modern “must read” sci-fi classic that I should have read years ago and I’m champing at the bit to finally dive into it. What’s more, both audio books are read by great voice actors that don’t make the decision any easier. In the end it doesn’t really matter Dune_sc1as I’ll just pick up the other book next month but dang if I’ll be able to figure it out this round without resorting to closing my eyes and picking blindly.

Of course, any suggestions you may have are always appreciated and may just help me out a bit.

4 comments

  1. I’m a big fan of Terry Pratchett’s, so I’m going to make my biased suggestion and go for a Terry Pratchett/Discworld audio book. 😀 (Plus, I have not read any of the Dune books yet, either.) Enjoy!


    • Have you by any chance read Guards! Guards!? I’ve heard great things about this particular book.

      Thanks for chiming in!


      • Hello! I don’t know where you are at this point with these two books, but to answer your question, I do love “Guards! Guards!”

        I love all of the Discworld books, :mrgreen: so I find it difficult to recommend just one. “Men at Arms” will introduce you to the characters in the Ankh-Morpork City Watch, whom you will meet in “Guards! Guards!”. I was going to suggest you begin with “Men at Arms”, but I, personally, found it more fun to read about the members of the City Watch after meeting them in “Guards! Guards!”.

        The performances/narration by Nigel Planer and Stephen Briggs of the Discworld audio books are awesome.
        —-

        I just picked up the “Shadow Of The Wind” CDs from the library a few minutes ago. :mrgreen:

        Congratulations on your wedding!


      • Thanks hordeshyrde, that’s exactly the kind of help I was looking for and I appreciate the suggestion that I consider Terry Pratchett’s “Men at Arms” after reading “Guards, Guards!” for that added insight into the characters. Very cool.

        And I reckon you’re going to really enjoy Shadow of the Wind! Thanks for stopping by and for the congratulations as well — I hope you’ll check back in to let me know what you thought of TSOTW.



Leave a Reply

