h1

“Finished A Jon Snow Chapter…”

October 7, 2009

Dance With Dragons_C1Those were encouraging words to read by George R.R. Martin, author of the highly (highly, highly) anticipated novel A Dance With Dragons. And not necessarily because there’s some real progress being made on the book (for me, it’s simply done when it’s done and I’ve plenty on my plate to enjoy until that day) but because Jon Snow has become my favorite character in the series and I’m not quite as caught up as others as of yet so I’m encouraged to learn that Jon is…well…and that there’s so much more yet to come. This is A Song of Ice and Fire after all, so perhaps you can understand my fears as I progress.

Anyhow, here’s the rest of what GRRM had to say about his work on the latest installment:

Finished a Jon Snow chapter, and have just passed the 1100 page (manuscript pages, the page count in the final printed book will be different) mark on A DANCE WITH DRAGONS. That’s counting only finished chapters in something close to final form. I have considerably more in partials, fragments, and roughs. Even with just the finished portions, DANCE is now longer than A FEAST FOR CROWS and A GAME OF THRONES, and I’m closing in on A CLASH OF KINGS. I do hope I can wrap things up before I approach the 1521 page length of A STORM OF SWORDS. Making a new run at the Meereenese knot, but maybe not tomorrow. I think I’ll hang around at the Wall a bit longer, and maybe visit Winterfell.

3 comments

  1. I’ve still to start this series *sigh*
    so many books, so little time…


    • Understand your sentiment completely Fidelius.


  2. Jon’s my favorite as well, but this is becoming such a tease. I think I’m just going to wait until they’re all out, and then re-read the whole series.



Leave a Reply

