h1

Peter S. Beagle, The Last Unicorn & Ravens

January 19, 2010

Who knew that Peter S. Beagle’s first novel, A Fine and Private Place had much to do with ravens? Well, I didn’t at least, and so I’ll have to busy myself reading it (a story Beagle penned at  age 19 no less) now that I’ve managed to track down a copy of his fantasy collection, The Fantasy Worlds of Peter Beagle, which also features one of my favorite childhood tales, The Last Unicorn. In addition, the collection also features the short stories Come, Lady Death and Lila, The Werewolf, both of which sound great.

But all of these will have to wait until I can tear through The Last Unicorn, as well as his 2005 novelette, Two Hearts, where Beagle once again returns to the world of the Last Unicorn as well as one or two of its principle characters. Also of interest to fans, IDW will be adapting TLU in comic form beginning this April, so keep an eye out for that in the months to come.

2 comments

  1. I absolutely love the cover of that book.


    • Right, I thought it was a very striking cover, and makes me want to pick up the comic version (hopefully in TPB form) all the more.

      Thanks for chiming in Chad, and welcome to the blog.



Leave a Reply

