h1

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3)

February 8, 2010

Pardon my diverging off-topic for a few moments but I just finished Uncharted 2: Among Thieves yesterday afternoon and wanted to take a few moments to “yack” about it. Like a great page turner Uncharted 2 just doesn’t let up  and it only gets better and better as the story progresses. In it, we follow explorer Nathan Drake, Elena Fisher, Victor “Sully” Sullivan and a few new faces as they attempt to ‘save the world’ from a madman bent on becoming the next Genghis Khan through the power of an ancient city — the doors of which that can only be unlocked by an artifact in Drake’s possession. The action is intense, the gun play is a blast, particularly with the ingenious level designs, and if that wasn’t enough then certainly the  fascinating characters and oddball dialogue serve as the added icing on the cake.

Honestly, it was so good that I’m going to have to fire it up all over again on one of the more difficult settings just to experience it all over again (something I rarely have the time and interest to do), especially the gun play and level designs. I’ll also have to hop online a little more now that I’ve finished the single player storyline as the online multi-player is awfully fun in its own right. The game really does remind me of some of the more entertaining times I’ve had when reading a good book and I thought I’d share that on the blog in case any of y’all haven’t played it yet and have the opportunity (and a PS3).

It’s funny, my wife was so cute as I was fighting the final boss. Not a big gamer by any means she couldn’t help but look up from what she was doing in the other room to yell “run, run!” “shoot him!” “ack! get out of there!” and finally, “yea!” Definitely pulled her in for a few moments there and I thought that served as a nice way of illustrating how immersive Uncharted 2 really is.

See you in Shambala!

4 comments

  1. I think Uncharted 2 has a mysterious power. It makes non-gaming females interested in gaming, even for a brief moment. The game elicited a similar response from my girlfriend, instead it was more akin to “wow” rather than “yeah!” I finished Nate’s journey to Shambala the other day. It is a fantastic game and deserving of all the Game of the Year 2009 awards it received.


    • Thanks for chiming in Rakim, it’s an interesting observation you make about our significant others (perhaps they dig Drake?) and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the game about as much as I did. I really can’t wait to start all over again.

      Curiously, did you play the original?


  2. No problem at all. It’s an interesting topic. I played the original (one of my favorite games on Playstation 3) and Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is everything the original should have been. Almost everything about this game is great, minus the story’s theme. I mean, essentially they used the same backdrop the second time around. I just started collecting the trophies I missed from my first play through. A lot easier this time around, than in the original title. Now, our significant others just might dig Drake, but I think they dig us a lot more!


    • I meant to start on my own Uncharted 2 replay last night, as well, but I just ran out of hours in the day. Maybe tonight, as I’d like to get back to the trophy hunting myself.

      Also, can’t wait to try out the gun fights again, using different strategies and terrain, particularly on the higher difficulty level.



Leave a Reply

