h1

What Book Do You Get at 40% Off?

March 8, 2010

At one point this weekend my lovely wife came into the room and told me that Borders had a 40% off coupon off any one book, but that we’d have to use it quick as it expired Sunday. Well, she let me drop what I was doing and we drove down to our nearest Borders to see what trouble I could get into with such a coupon in hand.  There would be no waiting for this one, no shipping charges, just a good book at 40% off. When she had told me about it I started mulling over which of the 40,000 books I’d like to own I should narrow it down to…but it didn’t take as long as I had imagined it would to whittle the list down as one book has been screaming to me for a good while now and I just haven’t been able to heed its call for various reasons…until now (thanks hon).

I have heard nothing but fantastic praise for Guy Gavriel Kay’s Tigana (as with nearly every other book in Kay’s library) and it’s high time that I read it. Hopefully it has a similar effect on me as it has so many others, which is apparently utter awe. Here’s hoping that this is indeed the start of something great. On where it sits in my “to read” pile, it should follow Peter S. Beagle’s The Last Unicorn which I’ll continue following Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s Diving into the Wreck (fun!) which I’m just finishing.

And just in case anyone else is interested in the question, “what one book do you get with a 40% off coupon?”

2 comments

  1. This book has been in the front of my mind for a while too. I’ll get around to it eventually, and likewise hope it affects me the way it has others.


    • Right, and be sure to let us know what you thought of it if you get a chance Chad.



Leave a Reply

