h1

Recent Book Acquisitions

March 25, 2010

I would suspect that the majority of folks that visit Follow That Raven have a fairly large collection spanning multiple genres (and one of these days I’m going to have to post a few pictures of my humble ‘ol library, following some renovation we’ll be doing in that part of the house) and I know that I’m always finding ways to add something new to my own ever growing collection, so from time to time I’ll be sure to share what I’ve been parting with my hard earned dollar in order to obtain. So, here’s the damage I did this last several weeks thanks to a sale at a local retailer (and my wife allowing me to splurge a little), but as the both of us are always on the look out for a good deal, rarely will I pay the retail cover price. Of course, that means I have to exercise a little more patience, but in the end I end up saving an awful lot and it makes the journey to obtain them a little more interesting:

_________________________________

1776 HC by David McCullough ($14.98)

Conquest by Man by Paul Herrmann ($5.79)

From Apostasy to Restoration by Kent P. Jackson ($8.99)

If By Sea: The Forging of the American Navy – From the Revolution to the War of 1812 HC by George C. Daughan (~ $4.50)

John Adams HC by David McCullough ($17.50)

John Paul Jones: Maverick Hero HC by Frank Walker (~ $4.50)

Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson ($16.30)

Sasha: A Trial of Blood and Steel Book 1 by Joel Shepherd ($6.62)

Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay (~ $14.99)

_________________________________

And as always, I’m also glad to hear what you might have recently picked up.

2 comments

  1. I recently finished the Complete Works of O. Henry and Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah.

    From the library, I just completed Our Lady of Darkness by Fritz Leiber and I’m currently reading a book of essays called the Weird Tale, but it’s not very good.

    Also, lots of GNs: Afrodisiac, Heavy Liquid, Black Jack, Bone, WE3 & Palestine.


  2. Definitely a wide range of interesting books MH. Had to look several of them up.

    I’d be curious as to what you think of Bone and Black Jack (my wife highly recommended the latter and I’ve since read through about half the first tome, and enjoyed it)? Jeff Smith’s Bone is one of my all time favorites (edit: and I see you’ve got a run down of your thoughts for several of these on your site…)



Leave a Reply

