h1

Persona 3 Portable (PSP) Arrives!

July 12, 2010

One of the final surprises the Playstaion 2 offered up was Atlus’ Persona 3  & Persona 3: FES , an RPG based in the Shin Megami Tensei series — a peculiar but fascinating Japanese RPG franchise — which ended up taking the gaming world by storm. I should confess that I’ve been playing FES on and off for the last year and a half or so as time permitted (yes, life has kept me that busy I’m afraid). By all means, I’ve really enjoyed my time playing and have honestly been in no real hurry to finish as I always look forward to jumping back into the game when I can and relishing in the combat, fusions, and strategy, while taking in the story, social links and all that the characters have to offer. That said, I suppose I should get a move on one of these days because I’ve still got Persona 4 patiently waiting in the wings for me to enjoy…

So, to help me with that, I went ahead and purchased Persona 3 Portable for the PSP as well. Fortunately, this portable version features new content all its own, including a female protagonist and control over your entire party in battle, along with several other features, with the added benefit being that I’ll likely be able to get through it much quicker due to its hand-held nature. I can take it with me on trips, play on breaks at work and school, and all kinds of places so that I’m not quite tethered to my television at home, and up late at night, in order to play.

I was able to fire it up for ~ an hour and a half this afternoon and can happily report that it’s just as good as its PS2 brothers, in its own ways. Unfortunately, the animated movies are gone, along with a few other minor losses, but the interface is really nice, the character models are just as slick, the battles look and play just as you remember them and the new additions the game offers more than make up for what was cut. In addition to the changes noted above there are new challenge bosses, two new difficulty levels, brand new social links and much more. It all goes a long way toward making this a must own for fans of the Persona series. And that you can go back and play as the protagonist you didn’t choose the first time and experience entirely new events, fusions, etc. speaks to the sheer amount of content and re-playability the game has to offer.

Tell you what though, I’m going to have to play a real juggling act between my PSP and DS over the next few months because in a few days Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies arrives as well!

Leave a Reply

