h1

Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon (Ch.1 Preview)

August 5, 2010

“A Deadly New Age…”

I’ll admit right off the bat that I don’t have a whole lot of experience with MMORPG’s. I just haven’t ever found the kind of time necessary to properly immerse myself in them (probably a good thing) but I have been fascinated with NC Soft’s Guild Wars series, the world of Ascalon and its characters since the original release several years ago (its free-to-play shtick didn’t hurt either). I can say that I own the core game and it’s final expansion, and that I’ve really enjoyed the occasions when I’ve been able to spend a few hours and explore a bit. The desire is there, certainly, and I’m looking closely at Guild Wars 2 to see if the innovations it’s making might be helpful for a player like me that’s forced to take it a little more casually.

However, the art and imagination that has gone into the creation of the Guild Wars universe has proven fascinating to me and time and time again I’ve found myself lost in the official site, or in the manuals, to learn about Ascalon and its many rich characters. So you can imagine how excited I was to learn about the release of Ghosts of Ascalon, the franchises first foray into novels, and that I’ll finally be able to immerse myself in this world — if in a more literary manner for the time being. And from all accounts I’ve stumbled across so far, it’s apparently pretty good stuff.

You can read the first chapter of Guild Wars: Ghosts of Ascalon to find out for yourself at the offical site:

For hundreds of years mankind and the ferocious cat-like charr have been locked in a death struggle. When the charr invaded the human kingdom of Ascalon centuries ago, King Adelbern invoked the devastating Foefire to keep the enemy from the gates. Now, over two hundred years later, the first real chance for peace between the warring races has appeared. Both charr and humans are exhausted by continual fighting and deadly new threats such as the ascendant power of the Elder Dragons. The battle weary humans want to discuss a truce, but before the charr will talk peace with their old enemies, they require a relic of their glorious past – an artifact that disappeared many years ago in the Foefire.

Dougal Keane is one of the few people to have walked within the haunted walls within Ascalon City and lived to tell the tale. Now, against his better judgment, he leads a team of adventurers back into the ruins of the fallen kingdom on a desperate search for the charr relic. Dougal will have to face both the undead spirits of forgotten Ascalon as well as his own personal ghosts if he and his comrades are going to survive the experience!

Ghosts of Ascalon is in stores now.

Leave a Reply

