h1

A Reading Update…

November 16, 2010

This time of year is always really hectic, I’ve just finished my mid-terms in the last couple of weeks and have had my nose buried in books on Judaism as I work to complete the courses in my Jewish Studies minor (they are very good, however, so it’s definitely not as much of a chore as one might think).

I’ve got a couple of research papers left to write, and finals to study for, but beyond that it’s not as bad as it has been in past years and there’s even been moderate time to breathe and…relax a little (please don’t tell ’em!). When I can crack something other than study material I’ve been alternating between GGK’s Under Heaven (still on the final stretch) and Dragonlance books from Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

On the audio front, I’m 39-chapters into Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings and, so far, the book is definitely exceeding my expectations, high as they were. I’ve enjoyed all that I’ve read from Sanderson, as I’ve noted here at the blog many times in the past, but this is definitely his best work to date and I’m happy to say I’m in for the long haul, and that I’m glad it’ll be a lengthy journey in this case. Everything is just starting to really hit the fan in the book at this point so I’m going to have an awful lot to enjoy as I sit in traffic listening for the next couple of weeks.

3 comments

  1. I loved Way of Kings as well. Definitely my favorite work of Sanderson’s. How would you rate the audio reading of the book? I like Michael and Kate, but feel that they’re just a bit sluggish.


    • They’ve done an excellent job, and I’m surprised every day at the breadth of their voice work, with so many characters to juggle and provide a unique voice for. I don’t know that anyone else could’ve quite pulled it off in the same way.

      If you have the ability to download the book on Audible, or a similar service, I certainly wouldn’t dissuade you. Let’s put it that way.

      Thanks for stopping by tankspill.


  2. […] Follow that Raven – A Fantasie Blog by texcap – “A Reading Update…“ […]



Leave a Reply

