h1

Fantagraphics: The Complete Carl Barks!

January 3, 2011

It has been an exciting end of the year for this Duck fan and having just heard the news that in 2011 Fantagraphics will begin publishing the legendary Carl Barks’ complete Donald Duck library, I obviously had little choice but to share it here (this, in addition to the great news that Fantagraphics will be publishing Floyd Gottfredson’s Mickey Mouse material beginning this March). I’ve been collecting Barks’ stories for years but it will be years still before I come anywhere close to completing my Barks collection so knowing that I’ll be able to pick them up in affordable, attractive volumes from Fantagraphics is the best Disney-related news I’ve heard in quite some time.

More from Fantagraphic’s Gary Groth in his interview about the initiative with Robot 6:

For those who aren’t familiar with the name, the Barks library has been one of the great missing links in a time that many have dubbed the “golden age of reprints.”  Acclaimed around the globe for his rich storytelling and characterization, as well as excellent craftsmanship, Barks has long been regarded as one of the great cartoonists of the 20th century, equal to luminaries like Charles Schulz, Robert Crumb and Harvey Kurtzman. He’s been one of the few major American cartoonists whose work has, up till now, not been collected in a comprehensive, manner respectful of his talent (at least not in North America), however, so this announcement comes as extremely good news for any who read and love good comics, let alone are familiar with Barks’ work.

Fantagraphics is always looking for ways to help spread the word and I’m happy to help where my little corner of the web is concerned. Please enjoy the full interview at the site for more about the price point, release schedule, format, stories etc.

Check back here for more in the coming weeks, and keep an eye peeled at stores for the first volume this fall!

2 comments

  1. I’ve been very impressed with the quality and presentation of Fantagraphics’ Peanuts and Prince Valiant reprint projects, and I hope that the Barks project is handled similarly.

    (On a semi-related note, if I could ever write a Duck story, there’s one I would tell. It’s a bit bonkers, though… 🙂 )


  2. This is incredible news. The last Carl Barks library to be published is insanely expensive — if you can find a used copy.

    I’ve opted to wait, thinking for years that Gemstone would eventually publish everything agan and that I’d be able to get a full collection. …then Gemstone stopped and BoomKids took over… which I haven’t been so thrilled about. I just started a blog and wrote about that very thing the other day.

    Thanks for pointing this out about Fantagraphics. I’ll be sure to watch for it.

    Stop by sometime, http://turnpagenow.wordpress.com/



Leave a Reply

